Adventures in Bacon

Inspired by Bacon Today, I attempted to make some Bacon Cinnamon Rolls. Here are the things I learned:

  • Be careful when choosing your cinnamon roll package (I used Pillsbury cinnamon rolls with cream cheese, if that helps). The idea is to unroll the dough and place the bacon on top before reassembling. If you select dough that doesn’t lend itself to this (like I did), it’s not going to work as well. Everything had squished together in the package, creating tidy cylinders of dough that were impossible to pry apart.
  • It’s important to pay attention to the cooking time. Otherwise, you’ll burn the bottoms of the rolls. It’s safe to say I will not be appearing on Iron Chef anytime soon.
  • When all else fails, improvise. I cooked the rolls and the bacon separately, placed the strips of bacon on top, then sealed the whole deal with icing.
  • Bacon + cinnamon rolls + icing = sweet and salty and spicy goodness.
Tags:

2 Responses to “Adventures in Bacon”

  1. Mr. B. Says:

    Great lessons learned – thanks for sharing your experience making bacon cinnamon rolls. I’ll add your helpful hints to our original article.

    Mr. B.

  2. Michele Says:

    Oh, how cool! Thank you!

Comments are closed.


