My Husband’s Least Favorite Outfit

The Cheap Chick is having a challenge, where each item in your outfit has to cost less than $20.

As well as serving as my my entry, I would like to use this post as a chance to display my fashion inclinations vs. those of my husband. And to show my complete dorkitude when it comes to shopping, especially when I find something on the clearance rack.

(Apologies in advance for bad lighting, bad photography, and lack of Photoshop skills. I’m still learning how to take and edit indoor pictures. Bear with me. It took me half an hour before I realized that I looked like I had only one leg. Then the dogs decided to “help”. Also, note the way I’m contorting my body five different ways in order to look slimmer yet still face the mirror– I’m like a living hieroglyph. But I digress.)

The skirt and purse were purchased this year. The earrings, shirt, and shoes are from 2007. The belt is vintage ’90s. I knew if I held onto it long enough (or forgot about it in the back of my closet), I would find a use for it again.

This is one of my favorite shirts. But my loving husband thinks that I’m missing part of my sleeves. I want to think he’s only voicing concern that I might get a cold, but I know better.

I presented him with the evidence that I wore this to work the other day, and no less than four people were kind enough to compliment me on it, including a woman I didn’t even know who pulled me aside in the hallway. Thus is the fabulousness of this shirt.

He’s not having it. When I was taking these pictures, he asked if I was going to send them to “What Not To Wear”.

Let’s break the outfit down, shall we?

  1. Brown 3/4 sleeved shirt with cutout sleeves, Ann Taylor Loft. $12.99
  2. Earrings, H&M. $4.99
  3. Orange clutch, Naturalizer.com. $16.50
  4. Black patent belt, NY and Company (Lerner New York). $4.99
  5. Bronze slingback sandals, Naturalizer (courtesy of the Herberger’s clearance rack). $12
  6. Black skirt, Ann Taylor Loft. $17.5

Grand total: $68.97

But you can’t put a price on repeatedly bugging my husband. He’s just lucky I didn’t include a scarf.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “My Husband’s Least Favorite Outfit”

  1. the cheap chick Says:

    Your husband is SO WRONG. You look awesome, and pretty, and very fashionable. Stacy and Clinton would LOVE this outfit.

  2. Michele Says:

    Aw, thanks so much!

  3. Bonus Post!!! Filled With Posty Goodness! Says:

    […] I have the winner for the Friday Frugal Fashion Show – Anita Martini. She won for her truly mad frugal shopping skillz, and because she was the only one to participate. […]

Comments are closed.


