Pumpkintastic! Pumpkin Spice Latte at Starbucks

I know I shouldn’t visit Starbucks. I know they represent all things corporate and chainy and manufactured. But they manufacture some good things, and the Pumpkin Spice Latte is near the top of the list. (Also, I choose their Chai Tea Lattes over any other coffee shop in town except for the divine Chocolate Chai Latte at Espresso Royale, and I have to stop thinking about it now, lest I go into convulsions of joy.)

Another good thing Starbucks is doing? Offering a tall cup of brewed coffee to anyone who votes tomorrow. And please, for the love of all that is holy and good, if you’re eligible to vote, get yourself to your polling place on November 4th. I’m not telling anyone who to vote for, but too many people have fought for our right to do so, and it would be a shame to sit this one out. 

(Deep, cleansing breath.) Okay, back to the pumpkins!

Oh yeah, I was about to admit that I’m a complete dork and occasionally refer to the Pumpkin Spice Latte as the PSL. And I’m so addicted to it right now that I might get the shakes when they discontinue it. To make the withdrawal easier, I’m limiting my PSL indulgence to once a week. (Also, because said indulgence tends to be accompanied by a baked good, which you’ll read about shortly.)

The Pumpkin Spice Latte isn’t overly pumpkiny, but contains enough of a hint of those special spices to make it appropriately festive. I like that the pumpkin flavor isn’t overwhelming– it’s just your normal latte kicked up a notch. It’s not too bitter, and not too sweet. It has a nice balance. And, as an added bonus, it keeps me awake (although it can be ordered in decaf form).

I feel like I should be writing something like “it has a deep, full body” but I do not claim to be a coffee expert. I know what I like, and I like this. A lot. And if it weren’t close to my bedtime and it would keep me up for 10 hours, I’d go get one right now. 

Rating (on a scale of 1 to 5, with 1 being the lowest): 4 pumpkins

tinypumpkintinypumpkintinypumpkintinypumpkin

Tags: ,


