Bacon in the News, and Other Random Stuff

It’s National Men Make Dinner Day. We’re not participating. Actually, Tim cooks much more than I do, although four times a year really isn’t hard to beat. 

The wonderful people at Bacon Salt just announced their holiday gift set. From the time I saw the description, it took me approximately two minutes to place my order, and that’s only because I hadn’t registered when I made a previous purchase on their site. I look forward to receiving my Baconnaise (lite), five new flavors of Bacon Salt (Applewood, Cheddar, Mesquite, Jalapeno and Maple), and bacon lip balm. 

We still get the dead tree edition of the Pioneer Press, and much to my delight, their Thursday “Eat” section contained an ode to bacon. I was impressed by how comprehensive it was. They highlight the previously mentioned Bacon Salt, along with the heinous Bacon Mints, which I have no desire to try. I had seen most of the features before (particularly the awesome bacon flow chart), but I learned a couple new things. I need to get some Nueske’s, and I need to visit the Blue Door Pub.

But first, I need to get to zPizza, which opened fairly recently near Byerly’s on County Road C in Roseville. I dare you to look at the Rusticas page without drooling, because I can’t.

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “Bacon in the News, and Other Random Stuff”

  1. BC Says:

    Do you follow awkwardfamilyphotos.com? Bacon reference: http://awkwardfamilyphotos.com/2009/06/25/the-bacon-brothers/

  2. Michele Says:

    I hadn’t seen that! I love that site.

  3. BC Says:

    “Deep Fried Paradise” on the Travel Channel just showed a place in Texas that makes “Chicken-Fried Bacon”… with gravy.

    They floured and breaded the bacon and deep fried it, then served it with cream gravy. Actually it looked kinda good.

  4. BC Says:

    Columbus is having a bacon camp: http://www.theotherpaper.com/articles/2009/07/30/arts/doc4a70a9497b6bc300188158.txt

  5. BC Says:

    Bacon in a chocolate pig: http://www.vosgeschocolate.com/product/flying_chocolate_pig/flying_chocolate_pig

Comments are closed.


