Pumpkintastic! The Beer Edition

Because pumpkin beer disappears quickly, I thought I’d better get to these items sooner rather than later just in case this inspires people to scan the shelves of their favorite liquor store.

I have tried three types of pumpkin beer. 

Harvest Moon is the darkest of the three beers, and it also has the most subtle pumpkin flavor. Kristen does a much better job describing the flavor here. Incidentally, it pairs really well with Bacon Salt. There’s something about knocking back a Harvest Moon with some fries sprinkled with Hickory Bacon Salt. If you have both of these items at your disposal, I highly urge you to try the combination. Harvest Moon also goes well with the real thing. 

When I went to Cost Plus World Market a few weeks ago, I noticed several cases of Buffalo Bill’s Pumpkin Ale. I asked the cashier, and she said in so many words that it kicks Blue Moon’s ass. Based on that description, I had to buy some. It was lighter than Blue Moon, but it still retains a subtle pumpkin spice flavor. I would almost describe it as creamy. It was excellent, yet I would rank it slightly below Blue Moon if I absolutely had to choose between the two.

Trader Joe’s Kennebunkport Pumpkin Ale is the lightest of the three beers, and also the most overtly pumpkiny. There’s nothing subtle about it. At first I liked this, but it makes it harder to drink more than one (a surprising feat for me, I know). Also, when you overindulge and buy two cases and they sit in your refrigerator for several months until it’s technically no longer pumpkin season, the bottles mock you every time you open the door. So I might be biased. It’s fine, and it will do in a pinch, especially if you want a strong pumpkin flavor, but in beer, I’ve discovered that I prefer just a hint of spice. Here’s an alternate take from Twin Cities Eater.

Ratings (on a scale of 1 to 5, with 1 being the lowest): 

Blue Moon Harvest Moon – 5 pumpkins

tinypumpkin1tinypumpkin1tinypumpkin1tinypumpkin1tinypumpkin1

Buffalo Bill’s Pumpkin Ale – 4 pumpkins

tinypumpkin1tinypumpkin1tinypumpkin1tinypumpkin1

Trader Joe’s Kennebunkport Pumpkin Ale – 3 pumpkins

tinypumpkin1tinypumpkin1tinypumpkin1

Tags: ,

One Response to “Pumpkintastic! The Beer Edition”

  1. Food and Beverage Recommendations « anitamartini’s lounge Says:

    […] stand by my initial three-beer pumpkin review. I conducted a more scientific taste test, and came to the same […]

Comments are closed.


