Pumpkintastic! Pumpkin Latte at Dunn Bros

With the weather starting to get colder, and the darkness coming earlier, I’ve been craving warmth and caffeine. And it’s ever so handy when you can get both in the same beverage.

Dunn Bros (short for “brothers,” not an homage to the pop group from the late ’80s), serves a warm pumpkin latte for just that purpose. I could have sworn it was called a Pumpkin Pie Latte in the store, but the Web site says that it’s a Pumpkin Spice Latte. 

(Incidentally, the Bros album was one of the worst things I’d ever heard. I heard it at a friend’s church party– yes, you can imagine a bunch of Texas Baptists getting down with Europop. I thought “When Will I Be Famous?” was kind of catchy, and purchased it on cassette shortly afterwards. I later exchanged it for the Information Society album. The Bros album was so bad, I didn’t even want it in my house.)  

The Dunn Bros heated pumpkin beverage is much more subtle than the Starbucks version. It’s not as creamy, and it has a much darker, deeper taste, almost bitter but not quite. The foam is also less creamy and has more air pockets. The drink had a nice texture, and it definitely fulfilled the requirements for keeping me warm and awake. However, even though I prefer my beer to have more subtle pumpkin notes, I like to have them just a touch more evident in my coffee. 

The beverage went well with the organic pumpkin bar. The bar was moist yet fluffy, and covered with a thick layer of cream cheese. I do have to say that pairing them together worked well, and I didn’t have competing pumpkin allegiances in my mouth. So perhaps the subtle flavor was a good thing after all. 

Ratings (on a scale of 1 to 5, with 1 being the lowest):

Pumpkin Pie/Spice Latte: 3 pumpkins

tinypumpkin2tinypumpkin2tinypumpkin2

Organic pumpkin bar: 4 pumpkins

tinypumpkin2tinypumpkin2tinypumpkin2tinypumpkin2

Tags: ,


