Bacon Christmas

It’s Bacon Christmas at our house. Now, I know what you’re thinking. I, too, am annoyed at holiday hype before Thanksgiving. I’m old school like that. Lately, retailers are showing restraint if they wait and advertise until Halloween has passed.

(Oh, and can we talk about those godawful garmin.com commercials? They have renewed my hatred for “Carol of the Bells” with vigor. So much that I’m not even linking to their site. I hate the bells. Dumb stupid bells. So many bells. Too many bells. AAAAAAHHHH!) 

Anyway, I try to avoid the hype until the last Friday in November. However, I’ll make an exception here. The wonderful guys at Bacon Salt are offering the Ultimate Bacon Lover’s Gift Pack. I ordered one last week, and Bacon Christmas arrived today. 

Bacony goodness inside!

Bacony goodness inside!

Tim and I licked our lips in anticipation, then soothed them with the Bacon Salt lip balm contained inside the box. It definitely tasted like bacon, and was smooth. However, I kept thinking that I had eaten a huge slab of pork and had not wiped my mouth with a napkin afterwards. I’m used to sweet or unflavored lip balms, so it will take some time for me to get used to it (and I planning on trying it again several times). But if you want the taste of bacon with you all the time, this is a convenient and portable option. 

Next, we tried the Baconnaise. We ordered the Lite version, but it didn’t skimp on bacon flavor. Tim had his Baconnaise on a toasted bagel. I also had my Baconnaise on a toasted bagel, but I added eggs and cheese to make it a bacon-flavored egg sandwich. We were not disappointed. I asked Tim for one word to describe it and he said “tangy.” It was the perfect blend of mayonnaise and bacon, and I look forward to it livening up my meals. I’m disappointed that we’re out of sliced turkey because I wanted to bring Baconnaise to work in sandwich form tomorrow. It will have to wait another day.

(You still have that evil “Carol of the Bells” song in your head, don’t you? My apologies. I share your pain.)

We haven’t tried all of the Bacon Salts yet, but we tried the Jalapeno and I tried the Applewood. I really liked the Applewood flavor. It was different than the previous Original, Hickory, and Peppered flavors I’d tried (and loved), but it was incredibly good. It had a slightly saltier, herbier flavor that distinguished it from the others. The Jalapeno was also good, providing more of a kick than the Peppered flavor but not so much that it was overwhelming. I’m just excited to expand my Bacon Salt palate. 

I'll admit, I got a little swoony.

I'll admit that I got a little swoony. Bonanza!

(Okay, I just tried the lip balm again, and it works much better after you’ve tried one of the Bacon Salt flavors. Funny, that.)

I’m looking forward to trying the rest of the flavors I haven’t experienced yet (Maple, Cheddar, and Mesquite). There might be grilling in our future. Or popcorn. Or more eggs. The possibilities are endless.

Tags: ,

One Response to “Bacon Christmas”

  1. Baconlicious « anitamartini’s lounge Says:

    […] 2. Bacon Ranch Dressing and Dip Mix. We’ve only tried the dressing so far, but oh my god is it delicious. Hands down, this is the best product Bacon Salt has ever created (and as you all know, I have a profound love for many of their products). […]

Comments are closed.


