Novel Handbags

Shoes are the gateway drug of the accessory world, at least for me. I love shoes, and always will, but I’m starting to branch out into jewelry, scarves (to Tim’s chagrin), and handbags.

Feeding my addiction is my friend Beth’s awesome store, Novel Handbags. She generously gave me two sample bags (which I’ll be modeling at Podcast-a-Palooza and all over Vegas in October). Not only are they beautifully crafted, but they fit my personality and style. The handbags are made out of books and coordinated with fabrics and handles.

(In addition to being extremely talented, Beth is an all-around good person and I honestly don’t know how I would have made it through the last four and a half years at work without her.)

The first bag is from a book called Meat. The book is red and features a set of gold-embossed carving tools on the front cover. The handles are a fantastic retro tortoiseshell, and the fabric inside is a colorful pattern of drink glasses, olives, and cheeses. To give you an idea of its size, the book is 8 1/2 inches long, 5 1/2 inches tall, and 1 1/4 inches wide.

Outside of Meat Handbag

Inside of Meat Handbag

The second bag is from a book called Cocktails and After Dinner Drinks (35 classy cocktail recipes from vodka to champagne to tipsy desserts). The cover is black, with shades of red, teal, magenta, and gold, so it goes with pretty much everything I own. It has a fun dotted print on the inside and black bamboo handles. The book is 7 1/2 inches long, 5 inches tall, and 2 inches wide.

Outside of Cocktails Handbag

Inside of Cocktails Handbag

Besides being the perfect topics, the fabric from the Meat book is from England (Beth found a great deal on eBay), and the Cocktails book is also from there (the price on the back is £9.99).

I absolutely adore these bags and I am happy every time I look at them. Beth has several bags for sale on her site, but if you have a particular book in mind, she also takes custom orders. If you are browsing in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area, her handbags are available for sale at Truly in White Bear Lake and at Patina in St. Paul.

Tags: ,


