Vegas Trip – October 2009, Day 3

Saturday, October 17, 2009

When I awoke, I realized that my stomach wasn’t too happy with me. I slept later than usual, then we went downstairs to the Paris buffet for nourishment. It’s not a must-visit buffet for us like it was a few years ago, but it was what I needed at the time– some eggs, toast, bacon, and orange juice.

We played more video poker at Planet Hollywood, and I hit four deuces again, to my surprise and joy. Again, I was able to play a long time. Sitting in one spot and rehydrating and recharging was good for me.

I also played some new slots based on the Pong and Breakout video games. They were quite fun even though I’m not very good at Pong. And they boosted my self-esteem.

Pong Machine at Planet Hollywood

I was ready to hop back on the alcohol train, so we headed to the Paris Diamond Lounge. I started with a Mandarin Press and then moved on to a Colorado Bulldog. Sal gave us a Mudslide shot to clear our sinuses and send us on our way.

We went up to our room to change, then took a taxi over to Palms for the big Podcast-a-palooza event. Here’s a recording of our segment.

We met lots of people and had a great time. It was all a happy blur, just like last year, although we had more of an idea what to expect. And when everyone applauded during our intro, I teared up again.

After the show, we went to Society for dinner. We got a scenic tour of the Spring Mountain Road exit from Brandie, who was kind enough to give us a ride to Encore.

We had the mac ‘n’ cheese bites with truffle sauce as an appetizer, in addition to the pretzels with mustard sauce they provided for the table. Tim and I each had the salmon for our entree, which was a disappointment as it was a bit dry and didn’t have much flavor. Then again, my stomach was still fluttering with nerves from the show and the beverages from the night before and that afternoon.

We checked in early that night, but not before observing the free parade of shiny people in Encore waiting to get into XS, the nightclub. I’ve never seen so many short, tight skirts in my life.

