Fall Beer Sampler

Or, how I spent my Halloween.

Tyranena Painted Ladies Pumpkin Spice Ale

Tyranena Painted Ladies Pumpkin Spice Ale

I wasn’t getting so much of a pumpkin spice vibe from this one, but it still was quite enjoyable. It had a nice toffee color and a toffee/caramel flavor. The first few sips had a hoppy finish, but the last few sips had a very creamy, sweet finish with just a touch of hops. It was very smooth.

Shipyard Pumpkin Ale

Shipyard Brewing Company Pumpkinhead Ale

It had a light golden color, and it smelled very spicy, and it had a crisp taste with a strong and sweet cinnamon spice flavor. It was closer to a cider than to a beer (even though it’s technically an ale). I wasn’t really feeling the cider vibe, but if you’re in the mood for cider or something sweet and light, this might be a good seasonal choice.

Lakefront Brewery Pumpkin Spice Lager

Lakefront Brewery Pumpkin Lager

I thought this was the best of the lot. It embodied the spirit of pumpkin beer. It had a strong spice flavor to it (more like clove than cinnamon), was a nice amber color, and had a deep, rich flavor.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Fall Beer Sampler”

  1. James Says:

    Nice review of these Autumn brews. Have you ever tried Magic Hat’s — Roxy Rolles. It’s an Autumn seasonal brew that has a nice combination of hops and malt. I had it the other day and it was really good.

  2. Michele Says:

    I haven’t tried that but it sounds delicious. Thanks for the suggestion– I’ll look for it!

  3. Michele Says:

    I haven’t been able to find the Roxy Rolles, but I did have some Magic Hat #9 last week and was quite pleased!

Comments are closed.


