2009 Music in Review: The Singles, Part 2

For Part 1, go here.

My other favorite songs from 2009:

I didn’t really have a neat category for these, but it doesn’t mean I love them any less, and I wanted to give them their own time in a separate post.

  • “Just Say Yes” by Snow Patrol: There’s something sensual about Snow Patrol’s music. It makes you want to grab the person closest to you and make out with them. Or maybe that’s just me.
  • “I Do Not Hook Up” by Kelly Clarkson / Gaslight Anthem: Two different versions of this song, one poppy and upbeat and produced, and the other acoustic and mellow and sparse. Both are excellent.
  • “Fuck You” by Lily Allen: My dedication to all the bigots in the world. Or in the words of a Facebook group, “Against gay marriage? Then don’t get one and shut the fuck up.”
  • Cartoons and Forever Plans” by Maria Taylor: This song features Michael Stipe on backing vocals and is one of the most relaxing songs I’ve ever heard. It just makes me feel calm and happy.
  • “Dominos” by The Big Pink: The production is really lush and it has a Jesus and Mary Chain vibe going on, except with higher vocals.
  • “You Pulled the Rug Out” by Two Harbors: This song also reminds me of British pop, but Two Harbors are from Minnesota. (Side note: This was filmed at Sauce, a bar just around the corner from Hair Police, which is a business you should totally support if you live in the Twin Cities, New York, L.A., or San Francisco. They do amazing things with cuts, color, extensions, and dreads, and are all around good people.)
  • “Okay” by KaiserCartel: Along with “Oasis,” this gets my vote for best song to get stuck in my head this year. If I heard a few lines of this on my way to work, I’d be mentally singing it all day.
  • “Led To The Sea” by Jenny Owen Youngs: I first discovered her work through her cover of “Hot in Herre” on the Coverville year-end countdown a few years ago, but her original songs are fantastic too.
  • “I’m Sorry Baby But You Can’t Stand In My Light Anymore” by Bob Mould: In other words, I can’t stand here and watch you screw up your life and drag me down with you, set to a great melody.
One Response to “2009 Music in Review: The Singles, Part 2”

  1. 2009 Music in Review: The Albums « anitamartini’s lounge Says:

    […] anitamartini’s lounge Something to occupy my time when I’m not in Vegas. « 2009 Music in Review: The Singles, Part 2 […]

Comments are closed.


